Shop Amazon

Sunday, October 20, 2019

Favorite Fall Finds



Hello, dear friends.  I hope that you are enjoying your weekend.  The Mister and I have been running around like two chickens with their heads cut off.  We got everything accomplished; I am happy to say.

This is my last post for a while.  I have a feeling you know where I will be.  I will try to post some pics on Instagram.  They all need to be daughter-approved, which sometimes takes some negotiating.

Here are a few Fall accessories that are on my radar.  I am beginning to start my Christmas shopping.  I am almost all done.  Now I have to start focusing on the rest of the family.



D&B

On Sale!

Lots of colors.







Tory







Nordstrom

Kate Spade at her best.
Lots of cute colors.





Anthropologie

Great price.







Tory

I bought this one a couple of years ago.
It's a great size and easy to keep clean.




Amazon





Nordstrom

Are you a fan of bucket bags?
I have a couple.


Amazon

I always use one of these with bigger bags.
They are lifesavers.
Otherwise, the Mister calls my purse the Bermuda Triangle.
I can only take that joke a few times.




Amazon

Speaking of the Mister, he bought me this backpack as a MOB present.
I didn't even ask for it!



Nordstrom

He told me he is tired of carrying my tote (which I love, btw).
The Mister said this way everyone (meaning me) can carry their own stuff when we travel.
Hmph... it's lucky that I'm not sensitive.
Is there such a thing as a backhanded gift?
Can I help it that my purse is 200 pounds?



Amazon

I just ordered one of these for my trip.
I hope it arrives on time.




Amazon

The older I get, the bigger the watch.
It's easier on the eyes and makes me look skinnier.





Amazon



Amazon




Amazon




Amazon



Anthropologie

Stunning!


Talbots



Talbots


Talbots




Talbots

These are the best jeggings in the world!
I call them my pull-ups.
No bulky zipper.
I have them in all the washes and colors.


Talbots


I also love high-waisted, barely bootcut jeans.  Talbots is one of the few companies that carry petite.  I made my weekly stop yesterday, and one of my sales lady buddies said there is going to be a sale on jeans this week. 

I told her that her secret is safe with me. 




Amazon

I can never have enough scarves.



Amazon

I love cashmere.



Talbots



Target



Anthropologie

I'm a big fan of funky readers.
Now I have to figure out a way of not losing them.
I have no problem keeping track of the ones that are from the Dollar Store!



Anthropologie


Anthropologie


Anthropologie



Banana Republic


Banana Republic


Anthropologie



Amazon

Sista is a jewelry hoarder aficionado.
She has more bangles than she has marbles!
She would love this one.  



Amazon

Love this.

Anthropologie

I bought these earrings, and I get lots of compliments on them.
Even from my girls commented, and they're a tough crowd!






Talbots


Amazon

I haven't worn a belt since the 1980s.
This is going to be my year to get back into them.




*****





Trailer

As a side note, the Mister and I have been watching this and enjoying it so much.





We also went to see this a few weeks ago and positively loved it.
I wouldn't be surprised if Renee finds an Oscar over the rainbow.


Until next time...






Linking up with:
Mix it Up Monday
Hello Monday
Inspire Me Monday
Hearth & Soul
Inspire Me Monday
You're the Star
Tuesday at our Home
Lou Lou Girls
Farm Fresh Tuesdays
Inspire Me Tuesday
Reader Tip Tuesday

Friday, October 18, 2019

Reading & Watching


Hello, dear friends.  If you have been wondering where I've been lately, I have been smack dab in the middle of the Nor'easter.  We were without power for about 24 hours. You never appreciate little things like electricity until it's gone. Meanwhile, the Mister was away on business.


The Mister drinks a cup of this in the morning, so I robbed his stash and heated a cup. I made a promise to myself that I would always insist on a gas stove. Even if I only use it once a year. Anyway,  I prefer brewed coffee, but this stuff is pretty darn good. I already bought my own bottle, which is tucked away for the next crisis.

As I was sipping on my cup of Joe, I looked out my kitchen window and eyed a massive branch down sprawled across the entire back yard of our neighbor's home.  The culprit?  Our tree. I had a sneaking feeling that my neighbors hadn't seen it yet.  I texted them the bad news and notified our landscaper, Mike, right away.  We are so lucky to have such wonderful neighbors. 


Mike was here within the hour and solved another problem for me.  He manually opened our electric garage door. Freedom!  Around ten thirty, I grabbed my co-pilot, Chili, and we went in search of lunch.  I also plugged my iPad and iPhone into the car for charging.

I would have been a superstar in the Pioneer days. 


After driving for about 45 minutes, I finally found a Panera with a full parking lot.  Now I know what Dorothy felt like when she spotted the Emerald City.  

I stood in line behind a sweet woman who had her arm bandaged.  We started chatting, and she informed me that she just left the hospital and her sister was parking the car.  She told me that she manually pulled up her electric garage door to go to work and it ended up coming back down and broke her arm. This poor lady.  I made a solemn promise to myself that I wasn't going to complain anymore.

That lasted until I pulled out of my parking place to head home.

The road to heaven is paved with good intentions.


  


I just finished this inspirational memoir written by Jeannie Gaffigan, wife and writing partner of comedian Jim Gaffigan.  Five kids, one traveling husband, and one pear-sized brain tumor, set the table for this laugh out loud, sentimental, inspirational memoir.  


Amazon

Demi narrates the audio version.  I really enjoyed this memoir and found her candid view of her nightmarish childhood and her two marriages riveting.  When I finished this book, I gained a lot of respect for Demi.  She is one tough cookie who openly admitted her flaws, took personal responsibility, and faced her demons and dealt with them head-on.    




I listened to The Dutch House, which was narrated by Tom Hanks.  He must be a friend of the author because I doubt he needs the money.  This book spans over fifty years and revolves around a brother and sister, Danny and Maeve. They share a sad childhood that lays the groundwork for their over-the-top love for one another and their unbreakable bond.  The story is touching, and Danny and Maeve are mesmerizing.



This was a book club choice.  The author attended our meeting.  Unfortunately, I had to miss it due to being knocked on my @#$# by a Shingles shot.  

Enjoyable historical fiction in the glamorous 1920's Hollywood. A light and fun read focusing on three lovable characters seeking stardom. 




I've read a few of Gilly MacMillan's books, and this one was just okay to me.  The story was a bit far-fetched, and the characters fell flat.


Amazon


This was another book club choice.  I enjoyed every page of this novel, which centers around a loving husband and wife and their four daughters.  The characters are multi-dimensional, and the family dynamics authentic.  I was sorry to finish the last page and say goodbye to this beautiful family that seemed to be so real to me.



DNF

I was very excited about this one.  I adored The Story of Arthur Truluv and thought this novel would be along those lines.  The story is about Noah, a widower in his seventies who is contacted by social services regarding his eleven-year-old grand nephew, who needs a temporary guardian.  Noah has never met the nephew. He was planning a trip to Nice and ends up taking the child, Michael.  I made it halfway through the book and finally gave up because the kid was so obnoxious I couldn't take it anymore.  I think that I was suffering from a touch of PTSD, prompting flashbacks from when my girls were preteens.
  
I'm sure the kid turned around, and they developed a good relationship, but it was too late in the book for me.





The Mister downloaded this memoir of a young woman who worked for the CIA. He's listening to it now and is enjoying it.




A young lawyer is shot and killed at his desk one night.  
The killer leaves no clues.  The police zero in on a suspect who is framed.  Let the fun begin.



For fans of The Night Circus, Morgenstern's newest novel promises to be just as good.  A graduate student finds an old book.  He begins to read it and realizes it's the story of his own childhood.



Amazon

The follow up to Winter In Paradise is hot off the press.


Amazon

This sounds like a good title for my memoir.



Amazon

I just started listening to this one.  I may be a little long in the tooth for this young, starry-eyed romance, but I'll keep you posted.




Great reviews!  
Olive Kitteridge fans, this one is a must!




Lots of praise for this historical novel.
It is written with two timelines, and you know I'm not a fan of this popular writing style.  I may give it a try since it drew so many rave reviews. 



I saw the author interviewed recently, and this sounds like one wild ride.  Count me in. 




If you haven't heard about this book, you need to get out more.




Elton lovers, this one is for you.





I listened to this book written by one of my favorite Instagrammers while driving around charging my iPhone and iPad in the car yesterday.  Even though I was frustrated with all the crazy coffee-depraved drivers, he kept me chuckling. 




I'm a big fan of Julie Andrews.
I can't wait until my ears are alive with the sound of Julie.




The minute I found out this one was coming out, I downloaded it.
It looks like these ladies will be accompanying me to Mexico.  





This sounds like the perfect book to give someone who is going through a loss or a crisis in their life.
Hoda is slowly taking Oprah's place in my heart.
Don't tell Oprah - she'll be crushed.




Big buzz on this gorgeous book.




Great hostess gift.



Amazon

I would buy this book just for its cover. 




She's
baaaack!







I hate to say it, but I have been slowly losing interest in The Affair.  It just doesn't have the same spark as the first season.



I am so sad that this is the last season of The Durrells
I love this quirky, crazy family.
But the one I am going to miss the most is handsome Spiros.
Don't tell the Mister I said that!




We were curious about Fleabag since it swept the Emmys.
This series is very graphic and off-color.
Needless to say, the Mister and I binge-watched it and laughed through it all.
The young people at the wedding are going to think that the Mister and I are so cool.


Succession just keeps getting better.
If you haven't watched the finale of the second season yet, I have two words for you... plot twist. 



I can't get enough of A Million Little Things.
My buddy, Annie has a darling niece who told her that everyone needs a Gary in their life.
Amen, Shannon!




How can I help?
DON'T get canceled!


Until next time...




Home and Garden

Recent Posts


Best Sellers